Minnesota Reciprocity, Midwest Student Exchange Program (MSEP), and Return to Wisconsin

Residents from Minnesota and other Midwestern states may be charged a reduced tuition rate.
In this Section

Reduced Tuition for Minnesota Residents 

The Minnesota Office of Higher Education (MOHE) and the State of Wisconsin have an agreement that Minnesota residents may attend a Wisconsin university and pay the same fees that you would pay to attend a Minnesota university. This can result in a savings of thousands of dollars over your college career!

Reciprocity Application Form

You can also find a paper application form, if you prefer to mail in a hard copy.

Your application must be submitted and approved before reciprocity rates can be adjusted. You will receive an acceptance or denial at the end of your application; print and save this for your records.

If you are successfully approved for reciprocity, you will be charged at the Minnesota Resident tuition rate instead of non-resident rates. Please be patient as there is a processing time and your account will not be adjusted immediately.

You will need to reapply only if you are not enrolled for 12 months and then decide to re-enroll, or you are transferring to UW-Stout from a different school.

MSEP Program

The Midwest Student Exchange Program (MSEP) offers reduced tuition to qualifying students from Illinois (eligible through Spring 2022 only), Indiana, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, and Ohio. Savings through the program will vary from institution to institution, but participating students will typically realize savings between $500 and $5,000.


Return to Wisconsin

Is your parent or grandparent a Stout alum? If so, you may qualify for a 25% discount off the non-resident tuition rate. Students are eligible to renew for it for 3 more years if they remain in good academic standing.

Learn more